Statement of Ukrainian Jewish Organizations on Anti-Semitism

Mark B. Levin

WASHINGTON, DC, May 22, 2018 - Late last week, leaders of Ukrainian Jewish organizations and communities met in Kyiv and released a statement on anti-Semitism. We share a translation of the statement below. 

As a result of intensive discussions on important and urgent issues, leaders of Ukraine's Jewish communities and organizations have agreed to the following:

1. To express deep concern at the rise of anti-Semitic incidents and displays of xenophobia and intolerance, including attacks on Roma communities.

2. To welcome President Petro Poroshenko's and Interior Minister Arsen Avakov's statements that anti-Semitism is unacceptable and expressing the government's readiness to decisively fight displays thereof.

3. To call upon law enforcement agencies, including the police, the Security Service of Ukraine, and prosecutors to exert all efforts in locating and bringing to justice those guilty of anti-Semitic crimes, vandalism of Holocaust sites, and hate crimes.

4. To express our gratitude to Congressman Ro Khanna, Congressman David Cicilline, and other members of the US Congress; Organization on Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE); World Jewish Congress; US Holocaust Memorial Museum; the Anti-Defamation League; Euro-Asian Jewish Congress; American Jewish Committee; National Coalition Supporting Eurasian Jewry; the US Embassy in Ukraine; the German Embassy in Ukraine; and the Israeli Embassy in Ukraine for their support in the fight against anti-Semitism

5. To strongly proclaim that Mr. Yosef Zissels and the organization VAAD do not represent all Ukrainian Jews. Mr. Zissels’ and VAAD's statements express only their respective positions. 

6. To call upon the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine to adopt the definition of anti-Semitism proposed by the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance and to correct limitations to Article 161 of the Ukrainian Criminal Code that makes it ineffective.

7. To call upon the Ukrainian government to join the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance.

8. To congratulate the State of Israel on her 70th anniversary and welcome the relocation of the US Embassy to Jerusalem, the eternal and undivided capital of Israel, and to call upon Ukraine to follow the US moving its embassy to Jerusalem.


President of the All-Ukrainian Congress of Jewish Religious Communities, Rabbi M.R. Asman

President of the All-Ukrainian Jewish Congress, Vadim Rabinovich

Director of the Ukrainian Jewish Committee, Eduard Dolinsky

Director General of the Jewish Fund of Ukraine, Roxana Gamarnik

Chairman of the Board of the All-Ukrainian Association of Organizations MAKKABI, Victoria Dyakova

Regional Director of Hillel, Joseph Axelrod

President of the Jewish Confederation of Ukraine, Boris Fuksman

Chairman of the All-Ukrainian Association of Prisoners of the Ghetto and Concentration Camps, Boris Zabarko

Director of the Religious United Community of Progressive Judaism, Alexander Gaidar

Director of the Kiev regional Jewish Community, Mark Talyansky

President of the Dnepropetrovsk Regional Jewish Community, Leonid Turchin

Director of Transcarpathian Regional Welfare Organization "Chesed Shpira," Mikhail Galin

President of Transcarpathian Regional Welfare Organization" Chabad Lubavitch Zakarpattya," Marina Kolesnik

Chairman of the Ternopil Oblast Organization "Jewish Community," Igor Banzeruk

Chairman of the Vinnytsia Regional Judaic Religious Community "Beys Menachem Lubavitch Vinnitsa," Igor Bargo

Chairman of the Vinnytsia City Jewish Community, Vladimir Borzhemsky

President of the Volyn Religious Community of Progressive Judaism, Ilya Miretsky

Chairman of the Khmelnytsky Regional Jewish Religious Community, Igor Ratushny

Chairman of Khmelnytsky Regional Religious Community, Rabbi Alexander Feingold

President of the Cherkassy Regional Association of Jewish Communities, Petr Rashkovsky

NGO "Mykolaiv Regional Jewish Community," Mikhail Goldenberg

Director of the Jewish Religious Community in the City of Kamenskoye, Leonid Breitman

Chairman of the Board Berdichev welfare organization "Star" Rav. Moshe Thaler

Director of the Zhitomir Jewish Religious Community, Sergey Medvedev

Director of Welfare Organization"EGC Mazal'tov," Inessa Nosenko

Chairman of Melitopol City Jewish Community, Anna Stetsenko

Chairman of Kropivnitskiy Reform Jewish Community "Atikva," Emma Spector

Chairman of the Jewish Community of Progressive Judaism in Lviv, Adel Dianova

Chairman of the Poltava Jewish Community, Leonid Sukhar

Chairman of the Jewish Religious Community of Kropivnitskiy, Rabbi Dan Zakuta

Chairman of the Nikolayev Jewish Community, Rabbi Sholom Gottlieb

Chairman of Mirgorod City Jewish Community, Mikhail Rutgaizer

Chairman of the Lubny City Jewish Community, Vladimir Mikota

Chairman of the Rivne City Jewish Community, Gennady Fraerman

Director of the Sumy Jewish Community, Alexander Galinsky

Chairman of the Glukhiv Jewish Community, Igor Sheshko

Chairman of the Kherson Jewish Community "Star of David," Alexander Vainer

Cherkassy City NGO "United Jewish Community," David Letichevsky

Director of Welfare Organization Tsiarii Chabad for the Jews of the Diaspora, Rabbi Moti Levenharts

Deputy Chairman of the Board of the International Jewish Community Center "Migdal," Roman Shvartsman

Chairman of the Jewish Community of Belaya Tserkov "Mitsva," Alexander Naivelt

For further comment, please contact NCSEJ CEO Mark B. Levin at or at (202) 898-2500. 

1120 20th Street NW, Ste. 300N Washington, DC 20036-3413
Telephone: +1 202 898 2500  |
Founded in 1971, NCSEJ represents the organized American Jewish community in monitoring and advocating on behalf of the estimated 1.5 million Jews in Eastern Europe and Eurasia, including the 15 successor states of the former Soviet Union.