2018 March Newsletter
 
 
 
Inside this issue

AZPPO Update
Upcoming Events
Allied Directory 


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Dear Pest Control Industry Members,

Do you think $2.1 million is a lot of money?

That question was raised by our Legislative Committee at our annual Great Western Conference this week. More on that in a minute. 

Did you know that AZPPO is on the front line when it comes to issues important to the entire industry and ultimately YOUR LIVELIHOOD?

  • AzPPO Legislative Committee meets with Pest Management Division Staff on a regular basis.
  • Division staff solicited support for additional inspectors, but AzPPO was able to negotiate increased staff focus on unlicensed activity before AzPPO could support additional staff (Inspectors)
  • AzPPO Conducted Legislative Day February 15, 2018 on the Capitol Lawn to educate your legislators on neonics
  • AzPPO Successfully shut down SB1373 (Prohibition; pesticides), which, if passed, would have made it unlawful for a person to sell or use the pesticides clothianidin, imidacloprid or thiamethoxam in Arizona.
  • In Washington DC, Arizona was credited with leading the way on the fight against targeted pesticide bans

Now, about that $2.1 Million...
In 2016, AzPPO Legislatively moved all division funds into a trust fund to protect your money. That trust fund currently has $2.1 million in funds, which the governor wants to sweep for his education program.  AzPPO learned of the pending sweep and took action. We retained legal council to research the legality of the sweep and to explore our options.  Our lobbyists have been working the halls and offices of your legislators to gain support for our position.  So far, the funds have remained untouched, but the battle is not yet over, and we must remain vigilant. 

But we can't do it without the support of the entire industry - YOU.

Your support through membership and fundraising activities is critical to our ability to defend the industry. 

Our annual Golf Tournament is coming up May 18, 2018 at Kierland Golf Club. All monies raised go to support legislative activity throughout the year.  Information and registration can be found HERE.

If you are not a member, it is important you become one to help protect your industry! 

Please remember, the success of our industry depends on your participation. Please stay engaged!
 
 
Join AZPPO
 
 
 
 
Another Great Western Conference is one for the books! Thanks to Committee Chair Chris Gillies (r) and keynote speakers Dr. Mike Potter and Dr. Austin "Doc" Frishman for contributing to a successful event! Look for a full report next month.
 
 
 
2nd Tri-Annual Business Forum
 
2018 AZPPO Bugs N Balls Flyer
 
 
 
Upcoming Events
 
 
 
 
Click on an event below for more information
 
 
More Info
 
 
Allied Member Directory 
 
 
 
 
The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO.

Welcome new Allieds: Brandenburg, Coalmarch, Freshlime, Senestech, Verizon Connect

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906 victor@agps1.com

All Risks Pam Brunges: 800-366-5810 x 3610 pbrunges@allrisks.com

Allergy Technologies Patty Maslowski: 215-654-0880;
service@allergytechnologies.com

Amvac Dean May: 214-789-8839; deanm@amvac-chemical.com  

AP&G Scott Baldwin 480-760-5874; sbaldwin@catchmasterpro.com

Arizona Spray Equipment Samuel Andrus: 623-847-5604; critter@azspray

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

Banker Insulation Scott Petre: 602-273-1261; spetre@bankerinsulation.com 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Matthew Spears: 919-724-9346; 
matthew.spears@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Josh Shoemaker: 602-820-5684; josh.shoemaker@bayer.com

Banker Insulation Scott Petrie: 602-273-1261; spetre@bankerinsulation.com 
 
Bell Laboratories, Inc. Nick Branca: nbranca@belllabs.com 

Bird-B-Gone Mike Dougherty: 949-472-3116 mike@birdbgone.com

Bird Barrier Michael Gallion: 310-344-5222  michael.gallion@birdbarrier.com 

Brandt Mohamed Rachadi: 678-644-5327; mohamed.rachadi@brandt.co 

BrioStack Software Derrick Walker: 801-616-6182; dwalker@shortstack.me

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

Central Life Sciences Blaine Oakeson: 801-731-8210; boakeson@central.com

Chemtech Supply, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

Control Solutions Inc Rob Ives: 713-203-4058; rives@controlsolutionsinc.com

Diversified Sales & Marketing Larry Hiner: 918-695-6742; lhiner@divsales.com

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

Enterprise Fleet Management Desiree Slade: 623-670-1438;
desiree.j.slade@efleets.com

FMC Professional Solutions Alea Pedroza: 714-833-191; alea.pedroza@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com

Image Craft: Jean Mertz: 602-305-4814; erutin@imcraft.com
  
J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

Kness Jeff Caudill: 641-932-2456 ext. 215;  jeff@kness.com  

LiphaTech Joshua Joyce: 714-262-0355; joycej@liphatech.com

Mass Mutual Kristin Rivera: 480-401-3081, krivera@financialguide.com

Mattress Safe Tiffany Epps: 770-205-5335 X211, tiffany@mattresssafe.com

Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com

MGK Matt Kenney: 559.232.8696; matt.kenney@mgk.com

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net

Mobile Training Solutions Linda Harrington: 520-419-9575; 
linda@mobiletrainingsolutions.net

Modern Methods Art Guzman: 702-577-6382; guzzer60@gmail.com

Nisus Scott LaFave: 714-270-0335; scottl@nisuscorp.com

Paid In Full, Inc Joe Lafornara: 623-580-7207; joe@wecollectit.com

PestWest Environmental Mike Goza: 480-747-2688; mike.goza@pestwest.com 

Podium  Tremain Peterson: 801-376-0677;  kaylie@podium.com

Protect A Bed Gary Brooks: 847-998-6901; gary.brooks@protecabed.com 

Syngenta Professional John Chaney: 719-252-4091; john.chaney@syngenta.com

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755;
kurt.smith@target-specialty.com  
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com

Termatrac Rick Wakenigg: 404-210-5633; rwakenigg@termatrac.com

The Mahoney Group Joe Steiner: 480-214-2746; jsteiner@mahoneygroup.com

Turf & Pest Supply David Crandell: 602-369-6137; dave@turfandpest.com

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717;
Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323;
christy.davie@univarusa.com Jackie Bell: 602-233-2440
jackie.bell@univarusa.com

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com

Work Wave Danielle Yannetta: 732-686-7846, events@workwave.com
 
 
 
 
CONTACT US 
AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002 |