2018 January Newsletter
 
 
 
Inside this issue

AZPPO Update
Member Health Insurance
New Year's Resolutions
Upcoming Events
Allied Directory 


 
 
 
 
2018 is already in full swing and so is AZPPO!

Our Education Committee has been working hard to create a new meeting format based on feedback from YOU. The first ever Tri-Annual Business Forum just took place yesterday - those in attendance were treated to some very valuable information to help make 2018 a great year for their businesses. Look for a complete report in our next issue. Save the date for the 2nd in the series which will be held May 17 at Kierland Resort.

The Conference Committee is putting the finishing touches on what will prove to be the best ever Great Western Conference March 27-29 at the Mesa Convention Center.  They have assembled a group of top-notch nationally renowned speakers. You won't want to miss it! More information HERE.

As always our Legislative committee is staying on top of issues that are important to our industry. Be sure to look for email reports while the legislature is in session. They can also be found on our website HERE.

Don't miss an opportunity to speak with legislators at our AZPPO Day at the Capitol on February 15th.  The event includes lunch, a presentation on the importance of Neonicitinoids, and individual meetings with legislators and/or their staff. Registration is free, but is a must HERE.

Our Philanthropy/Community Outreach Committee is planning the first ever Pest Control Industry Family Picnic on April 21st.  Stay tuned for more details.  

The success of our industry depends on your participation. Please stay engaged!
 
 
 
 
 
In case you missed it - NPMA Now Offers Health Insurance for Members


The new NPMA Health Insurance Exchange partners with reputable insurance providers to offer members cost-effective benefit options that make sense in an increasingly unpredictable marketplace. With a focus on flexibility, our Exchange does away with "all-or-nothing" packages and empowers members to select specific benefit offerings that best fit the size and requirements of their business. LEARN MORE


Remember, when you join AZPPO, you automatically become an NPMA member and can take advantage this benefit and many others.  Our membership period is July 1 - June 30.


 
 
Join AZPPO
 
 
 
It’s that time of the year when cold weather conditions affect much of the country and pest professionals take a short break from the day-to-day. January is a perfect time for business planning and hopefully you are using these weeks to examine the previous year’s performance and set new business goals for 2018.

While you may have already set your personal New Year’s Resolutions, why not consider setting a few Resolutions for your business as well? We put together the following list of Resolutions to help you move your business forward in the New Year…

1. Assess your current equipment. When the busy season is upon you it can be difficult to take time away to care for your equipment. The off season is a perfect time to carefully review your equipment inventory, show it a little TLC and perhaps take some pieces out of the rotation. Often times dated equipment can cost you in the long run with down time when it breaks or equipment repair expenses. Since time is money, you may also want to consider what new technology exists that may make you and your technicians more efficient in the field. Our technical field reps would be happy to discuss new equipment technology. The time you spend now could save you thousands later in repair expenses.

2. Consider an Add-On Business. If you have a crew that you must lay-off during the winter months or you struggle to keep your staff busy during this time of the year consider including a seasonal Add-On Business to the mix. Holiday Decorating, Blow-In Insulation, Rodent Exclusion, Wildlife Removal and Mold Treatment are all common Add-On Businesses that pest management companies have successfully included in their business mix over the years.

3. Reduce Your Winter Cancellation Rate. One way to keep your cancellations to a minimum this year is to remind your customers of your value! During your winter service ensure your customer base realizes how important that service is. Take the time to schedule an indoor pest inspection. Check glue boards and traps and set out fresh ones. Inspect for rodent and other wildlife droppings. Create a leave behind marketing piece that communicates to your customer exactly what value you are delivering with your winter service and even give them a glimpse of what is to come with their spring service.

4. Embrace Technology. Chances are your technicians already own their own smartphones. Incentive them to use them in the field! Showing your customer evidence of a termite infestation or attic rodent invasion through pictures taken on your technician’s smartphone can be powerful. Those same pictures can be used on your website and social media pages to help customers identify pest problems in their own home. Don’t shy away from amateur technology. Most folks can take a skilled shot with a simple smartphone and today’s consumer actually prefers your action shots and videos versus stockphotos.

5. Create a Content Marketing Plan for 2018. It can be tough to sit down when time is limited time and determine what this month’s enewsletter might cover, what social media post topic you should write about or what blog may be interesting to your audience. Save yourself time during the busy season this year by creating a full pest control marketing calendar in January and following it throughout the year.

We hope these suggestions offer you some creative ideas to write your 2018 Business Resolutions. Target Specialty Products looks forward to serving you this year. Call us at 480-517-0755 or visit us online at target-specialty.com to learn more.

Wishing your business your best year yet!
 
 
 
AZPPO Day at the Capitol 2/15/18
 
-2018 AZPPO Conference Save the Date March 27-29, 2018
 
2018 AZPPO Bugs N Balls Flyer
 
 
 
Upcoming Events
 
 
 
 
Click on an event below for more information
 
 
More Info
 
 
Allied Member Directory 
 
 
 
 
The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO.

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906
victor@agps1.com


All Risks Pam Brunges: 800-366-5810 x 3610 pbrunges@allrisks.com

Allergy Technologies Patty Maslowski: 215-654-0880;
service@allergytechnologies.com

Amvac Dean May: 214-789-8839; deanm@amvac-chemical.com  

AP&G Scott Baldwin 480-760-5874; sbaldwin@catchmasterpro.com

Arizona Spray Equipment Samuel Andrus: 623-847-5604; critter@azspray

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

Banker Insulation Scott Petre: 602-273-1261; spetre@bankerinsulation.com 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Matthew Spears: 919-724-9346; 
matthew.spears@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Eric Paysen: 602-245-3659; eric.paysen@bayer.com

Bell Laboratories, Inc. Patrick Lynch: plynch@belllabs.com

Bird-B-Gone Mike Dougherty: 949-472-3116 mike@birdbgone.com

Bird Barrier Michael Gallion: 310-344-5222  michael.gallion@birdbarrier.com 

Brandt Mohamed Rachadi: 678-644-5327; mohamed.rachadi@brandt.co 

BrioStack Software Derrick Walker: 801-616-6182; dwalker@shortstack.me

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

Central Life Sciences Blaine Oakeson: 801-731-8210; boakeson@central.com

Chemtech Supply, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

Control Solutions Inc Rob Ives: 713-203-4058; rives@controlsolutionsinc.com

Diversified Sales & Marketing Larry Hiner: 918-695-6742; lhiner@divsales.com

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

Enterprise Fleet Management Desiree Slade: 623-670-1438;
desiree.j.slade@efleets.com

FMC Professional Solutions Alea Pedroza: 714-833-191; alea.pedroza@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com

Image Craft: Jean Mertz: 602-305-4814; erutin@imcraft.com
  
J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

Kness Jeff Caudill: 641-932-2456 ext. 215;  jeff@kness.com  

LiphaTech Joshua Joyce: 714-262-0355; joycej@liphatech.com

Mass Mutual Kristin Rivera: 480-401-3081, krivera@financialguide.com

Mattress Safe Tiffany Epps: 770-205-5335 X211, tiffany@mattresssafe.com

Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com

MGK Matt Kenney: 559.232.8696; matt.kenney@mgk.com

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net

Mobile Training Solutions Linda Harrington: 520-419-9575; 
linda@mobiletrainingsolutions.net

Modern Methods Art Guzman: 702-577-6382; guzzer60@gmail.com

Nisus Scott LaFave: 714-270-0335; scottl@nisuscorp.com

Paid In Full, Inc Joe Lafornara: 623-580-7207; joe@wecollectit.com

PestWest Environmental Mike Goza: 480-747-2688; mike.goza@pestwest.com 

Podium  Tremain Peterson: 801-376-0677;  kaylie@podium.com

Protect A Bed Gary Brooks: 847-998-6901; gary.brooks@protecabed.com 

Syngenta Professional John Chaney: 719-252-4091; john.chaney@syngenta.com

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755;
kurt.smith@target-specialty.com  
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com

Termatrac Rick Wakenigg: 404-210-5633; rwakenigg@termatrac.com

The Mahoney Group Joe Steiner: 480-214-2746; jsteiner@mahoneygroup.com

Turf & Pest Supply David Crandell: 602-369-6137; dave@turfandpest.com

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717;
Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323;
christy.davie@univarusa.com Jackie Bell: 602-233-2440
jackie.bell@univarusa.com

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com

Work Wave Danielle Yannetta: 732-686-7846, events@workwave.com
 
 
 
 
CONTACT US 
AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002 |